The Broken and The Abandoned.

A picture is worth 1000 words. This safe has been through a lot. Tell its story. Image credit: “safe” – © 2007 Paul Keller – made available under Attribution 2.0 Generic

Don’t look at me that way, it makes me want to hide myself in the deepest vaults, if I could. I know my presence offends you. I know you’re thinking, someone should have hauled me away a long time ago.

Please don’t turn your back and walk away. Sometimes I find myself alone for days on end, with nothing to break the monotony. The loneliness can be deafening. I wait for the end. I wonder why I ever came into existence at all.

When you look away in annoyance, I wish it is within my power to pull my doors shut and cover myself up. It was not my intention to get so progressively ugly. I’m sorry I ruined your morning run.

I should have let you know I creak and groan sporadically. Not because I want to scare the bejeezus out of you. When the wind banged my doors repeatedly, I didn’t find it funny that you jumped out of your skin. This empty place amplifies sound. I even scare myself sometimes.

I know you worry how the rust and paint flaking off of me might pollute the environment. Am I corrosive? I don’t know. I only know that with each passing season, more and more of myself crumble away into nothingness. I am losing myself.

I wish I could straighten myself up and patch the weary parts of me. It might make you feel better.

I have been kicked and pummelled; with pipes, sticks, shoes, and rocks. People came to scratch my walls and paint filthy words all over me. Was it something I’ve done? This is not even half of it but the thinking of the why’s takes a big portion of my day. 

I’ve been here so long, far too long…

Hello! You look lovely this morning. Won’t you stay for a while? I promise to keep myself together, or try my best not to fall apart in your presence. That would embarrass me a great deal.

Would you like to hear a story of a young safe?

Leave a comment